loudQUIETloud: A film about the Pixies

lql

I love the Pixies. I jumped on the bandwagon in about 1990 when a good mate introduced me to Come on Pilgrim/Surfer Rosa. First listen and I was in love. It’s still one of my all-time favourite albums and I still listen to it regularly (in order because if it doesn’t play the way I listened in the 90s I feel weird #preshufflecdplayer). It’s up there with Nevermind for my 90s good times listens.

Therefore I looked forward to loudQUIETloud and I know exactly why it’s on the list. I wish I had watched it in 2004 though because now I want to know about them in 2014! (I know I could google it but too hard, lazy, sounds like work.)

This doco is about the Pixies reforming to tour around the world for the first time in about 10 years. Black Francis is still your go to guy for ego and controlling behaviour and Kim Deal is still your go to gal for angst and addictive behaviours.

All the members are a little older and a little wiser. Kim is a year off the drugs and alcohol (although she is constantly drinking no alcohol beer which seems a little odd but probably is comforting). She also requires her sister to travel with her which is another comfort in a difficult time for her.

Each of the members is harbouring a little doubt about the whole tour as well as some resentments toward each other about the way things ended last time and, I think, wondering if they can pull it off this time.

These guys have a weird dynamic and spend a lot of time sitting around in quiet rooms not speaking at all. Most bands seem to have a strong camaraderie but not these guys. It’s like they enjoy the music they make but not much else. As the film progresses they do get closer and show genuine affection and care for each other but their communication skills are sorely lacking. Each interview with a band member reveals how little any of them know about their future or what is currently going on because they never talk about it!

The movie is a little low key. It’s not dramatic or sad or intense, it is a portrait of a group of people who are very private and are all dealing with some pretty intense issues. It’s all about the music for them but the doco is all about them plus some awesome music.

Since they reformed I have seen them live twice here in Australia and they were absolutely wonderful. Their joy in the performance and the love from the crowds was quite clear.

I’m pretty sure loudQUIETloud is a film for the fans but because I am a fan that also means I can’t really tell, so maybe it’s a film for everyone who likes music and bands and people and tour buses and concerts and non-alcoholic beer and pixies.

Leave a Reply

